a complete source for all the news, schedules, and stats of Long Beach Wrestling
Home History


Head Coach Ray Adams enters his seventeenth year at the helm of the Marines and is assisted by Leo Palacio, Bernard ValentinJuan PiedrahitaMiguel Rodriguez and John Khoury.  Long Beach High School has one of the greatest traditions in high school wrestling. This year the team won the League Championship and three tournament titles. It is the 3rd league championship in the last four years. On March 1, 2014 Jacori Teemer became the first 8th grader in Long Beach and Nassau County history to win a state title. He pinned his opponent to win the title and become the 11th State Champion in Long Beach Wrestling history.  In 2012, the team placed 7th in New York State, placing three All-State wrestlers. Dylan Palacio became the 10th wrestler in Long Beach history to capture a state title and second wrestler to win a National Championship. Krishna Sewkumar placed third in the state tourney and earned All-American honors by placing 5th. Mark Raghunandan placed sixth in the state tourney and also earned All-American honors by placing 5th in the country at 113 lbs. Long Beach High School is the first team in New York State history to place three wrestlers in the Senior National Championships. Long Beach finished 2nd in 2012 in the County Dual Meet and individual tournament. Eight young men earned All-County honors in 2012.  In 2010, the Marines captured the Nassau County Wrestling Championship by defeating defending NYS Champion and ranked #1 Wantagh High School by over 20 points. The team had 9 All-County wrestlers and 2 All-State grapplers. In 1979 Paul Gillespie and Reggie Jones took over the program and brought it to new heights.  They won 17 Nassau County titles from 1979-1996. Paul Gillespie was inducted into the National Wrestling Hall of Fame a few years back.  Jones was inducted into the Hall of Fame in April of 2013. In 2000, Jonathan Masa became the first high school National Champion for Long Beach. He then went on to become a three time Division One All-American at Hofstra University.  In 2012, Dylan Palacio became the second high school National Champion for LB. He followed this up by winning the FILA Junior National Freestyle National Championship his freshman year of college competing for the Finger Lakes Wrestling Club (Cornell University).  Ten other Marines have won New York State titles: Al Palacio (1980, 81, 82), Richard Santana (1987), James “Scotty” Graham (1987), Aldy Teran (1993), Kevin Haggerty (1997), Eduardo Delgado (2006), P.J. Gillespie (2007) and Dylan Palacio (2012). Forty-eight LB grapplers have earned All-State honors since 1980, and 62 young men have won Nassau County Championships for Long Beach in that span.  That is the most of any school in Nassau County history.  Among those ranks, Long Beach coaches Leo Palacio and Bernard Valentin were both Nassau County Champions.  In both 1982 and 1987, Long Beach was named team New York State Champions.  The Marines placed 5th in N.Y.S. in 2007, 6th in 2011, 7th in 2012 and 8th in 2006.  In 2007, Long Beach crowned three Nassau County Champions and claimed all three special awards at the county tournament. P.J. Gillespie was voted the Outstanding Wrestler, Eduardo Delgado was voted Champions of Champions, and 275 lb. Champ Tim McCormack pulled in the Most Pins in the Least Amount of Time Award. In 2007, Gillespie (217) and Delgado (195) became the two all-time leaders in wins in Nassau County history. 

Long Beach Wrestling
18X Nassau County Champions
2X N.Y.S. Champions